Inga Simpson

bio

Inga-Simpson-13.jpg

Inga Simpson is the author of The Last Woman in the World (Hachette, Nov 2021), Mr Wigg, Nest, Where the Trees Were, Understory: my life with trees and The Book of Australian Trees, illustrated by Alicia Rogerson. Inga’s novels have been short and longlisted for numerous awards, including the Miles Franklin and Stella Prize, while Understory was shortlisted for the Adelaide Writers Week award for nonfiction. Inga was also the winner of the Eric Rolls nature writing prize for her essay “Triangulation.” ​

 

Inga has PhDs in creative writing and English literature, with her most recent thesis exploring the history of Australian nature writing. Her short stories and essays have been published in Wonderground, Chicago Quarterly Review, Review of Australian Fiction, Griffith Review, Clues, Writing Queensland, and The Dictionary of Literary Biography.

 

​Her first career was as a professional writer and researcher, including for federal Parliament and the Commonwealth Ombudsman.

 

Inga grew up in central west NSW, and has lived in Canberra, Brisbane and the Sunshine Coast hinterland. She has now settled on the far south coast of NSW.


She is currently working on her next novel, Willowman, to be published in November 2022.

 

OUT NOW

The Last Woman In The World

 

AFTER THE FIRES.

AFTER THE VIRUS.

THEY CAME.

 

A remarkable literary novel from the multi-award-nominated Australian writer.

It's night, and the walls of Rachel's home creak as they settle into the cover of darkness. Fear has led her to a reclusive life on the land, her only occasional contact with her sister.

A hammering on the door. There stands a mother, Hannah, and her sick baby. They are running for their lives from a mysterious death sweeping the Australian countryside.

Now Rachel must face her worst fears: should she take up the fight to help these strangers survive in a society she has rejected for so long?

 

From the Miles Franklin- and Stella Prize-longlisted author, who lived through the Australian fires, The Last Woman in the World looks at how we treat our world and each other - and what it is that might ultimately redeem us.

 

For fans of BIRDBOX and A QUIET PLACE, this remarkable  literary thriller holds a mirror up to the changed world we live in today.

The Last Woman in the World is heart-racing, page-turning, hiding-under-the-doona stuff. A smart and pacey thriller that is also a lament for a world we have failed to care for.

Kate Mildenhall
bestselling author of
The Mother Fault

Christina Dalcher
author of VOX

The Last Woman in the World is a novel of fear, fire and an uncertain future. A powerful narrative in Inga Simpson's own unique voice. Horrifying, yet humane and ultimately hopeful - a masterwork.

Angela Slatter,
World Fantasy Award-winning author of
The Bitterwood Bible

the-last-woman-in-the-world-2.jpeg

The Last Woman in the World will grab you and not let go. A necessary read that is sure to set the literary world on fire.

contact

For all interviews, festival, speaking, and media enquiries, please contact:

Kate Taperell - Publicity Manager, Hachette Australia

kate.taperell@hachette.com.au 

 

For all rights enquiries, please contact:

Sarah Brooks, Rights and Publishing Manager, Hachette Australia

sarah.brooks@hachette.com.au

 

Readers wishing to contact Inga:

Inga@ingasimpson.com.au

PO Box 557, Moruya, NSW 2537.

Follow Inga:

  • Twitter
  • Instagram
  • Black Facebook Icon